In Genesis the Hebrew word raqia has been translated as firmament only since 1886.
But what raqia means is a circle or disk.
Raqia is referring to the circles that were formed during creation around Saturn.
These circles are the ones around Saturn today.

Even now they are divided into 7 separate layers.
These separate layers are the original 7 seas.
And 7 heavens
And also the 7 gates.